Winners of the UrbanPhotoFest Open 2016

It is with great excitement that we are able to announce the winning entries into the UrbanPhotoFest Open competition.  We would like to thank everyone who helped us to re-think the street and congratulate our finalists!

This year we invited entrants to extend their visual approach to contemporary street photography so that the street becomes the starting point for engagement with the urban environment.  Our belief that his approach would produce work that provokes questions about encounters with the modern city was borne out through the quality of images that we received.

We were delighted at the global response to our request, and received entries that were diverse, engaging and that speak to the experiences of citizens in a number of cities throughout the world.  As judges, we were enthralled by the range of visual strategies and approaches used that opened up some fascinating insights into the cities represented.

Our winning entries are as follows:

First Prize

Yangkun Shi 

The judges commented that this is beautiful work offering a sensuous dialogue in the 'sprezzatura' of the hands, belonging to two invisible women, whose public vice of smoking is permissible only in the streets of the city.

Second Prize

Shanth Kumar

The judges stated that the visual complexity of this photograph is compelling.   The image is an intricate puzzle that demands the viewer to actively engage with the aggregation of information.

Third Prize

Gina Nero

The judges commented that the deep blue of the car, merged with the ‘bleu de travail’ of the mechanic’s outfit pull the viewer into the image.  The visual pleasure of this photograph is palpable.


The following 17 images which are presented in alphabetical order of their authors names, made up our top 20 finalists whose work will be screened during UrbanPhotoFest in November 2016.


Michele Abriola



Tanya Ahmed



Tanya Ahmed


Alex Bamford


Eugenijus Barzdzius



Brian Condron



Argus Paul Estabrook



Keith Greenough



Simon Hadleigh-Sparks



João Pedro Machado



Joshua Malcolm



Marianne Marplondon



Colin Miller


Tony Rickaby



Zoe Rushton



Zoe Rushton



Yangkun Shi


Congratulations to all our finalists and thank you everyone for entering!


Gill and the UPF Open Team